Whew!
Inside the aquarium

Outside the aquarium

Last week R was off for a few days, so on one of our staycation days we drove up to Chattanooga to the Tennessee Aquarium. It was a beautiful day.

v TN Aquarium 113

While R stood in the long line for tickets, V and I walked around outside. There was a drummer playing under the bridge, which was a nice, cool place to get out of the sun. He let V play his drums and seemed to be a nice guy.

v TN Aquarium 118

Then she played in their little water feature. All the other kids were playing there so you know there was no way I was going to be able to keep her out of it.

v TN Aquarium 126

Of course she got completely soaked, but my good husband R had the foresight to bring her some extra clothes. While he took her to change, I sat under the bridge on a bench behind the drummer guy.

v TN Aquarium 155

I was trying to work up the nerve to ask him if I could take a picture. I don't think he would've minded, but I get shy.

v TN Aquarium 160

Before I could summon the courage, an Aquarium security employee came over and told him he couldn't play there. So he packed up.

v TN Aquarium 165

And left.

v TN Aquarium 169

This really annoyed me.

Did I mention it was a beautiful day?

v TN Aquarium 162

So I talked to the lady sitting on the bench next to mine.

v TN Aquarium 178

And then a kid came over and bummed a cigarette off her. He went back and sat with his buddy on one bench.

v2 TN Aquarium 181

While a new mom fed her baby on the other.

v TN Aquarium 181

And then R and V came back and we went inside to see some big fish. And little ones. And seahorses.

I'll have some pictures from inside the aquarium next time.

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

melissa

what a beautiful day and a lovely vignette.

Gayle

That sounds like a great family day! I hope you have seahorse photos! They are so interesting.

jessica

That is the most lovely aquarium...I love all those observations you made...it was fun to see the "every day" people.

cmv

sounds like a lovely day!
your pictures are gorgeous- i especially like the 'packing up the drum' and the 'smoking lady' pictures.

spread your wings

i love Chattanooga. The aquarium is especially nice but i really enjoy the whole area - the Bluff View Art District, the huge river park, the carousel, main street shopping, signal mountain, oh so much to do there. it's making me want to take a weekend trip soon - maybe in the fall.
i too enjoyed seeing the everyday people in your post. sounds like a wonderful day.

Natalie

A slice of life. Thank you for sharing.

shelli

I agree - this is a wonderful slice of life.

Teresa

First, I love that building! Second, this is a great story! Love the photos. And third I wish you had taken his picture. I think you saw something interesting in him and no doubt it would have been a fantastic picture!

jen

Oooh! This makes up for all the people watching I've been missing. Lovely shots. I like the way the drummer's eyes stand out in the first shot of him and V

Amanda

I live in Chattanooga and love the aquarium. I just started reading your blog and I really enjoy it. I love all of your pictures and all your yummy yarn.

The comments to this entry are closed.